

BURNLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL EXTRAORDINARY FULL COUNCIL

COMMITTEE ROOMS 2 & 3

Tuesday, 29th November, 2022

PRESENT

MEMBERS

Her Worshipful The Mayor (Councillor Cosima Towneley) in the Chair;

Councillors A Khan (Vice-Chair), A Anwar, H Baker, G Barton, G Birtwistle, C Briggs, S Cunliffe, S Graham, J Harbour, B Horrocks, M Hurt, S Hussain, J Inckle, M Ishtiaq, S Kazmi, A Kelly, T Kennedy, L Khan, J Launer, G Lishman, M Lishman, S Lone, J McGowan, N Mottershead, M Payne, A Raja, C Sollis, M Steel, M Townsend, D Whitaker and A Wight

OFFICERS

Mick Cartledge – Chief Executive

Lukman Patel – Chief Operating Officer

David Bristow – Mayor's Officer
Carol Eddleston – Democracy Officer
Alison McEwan – Democracy Officer
CJ Walmsley – Democracy Officer

33 Minutes of the Last Meeting

RESOLVED

The Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 28th September 2022 were confirmed, subject to the correction of minute no 23(f) to read 'Councillor Fewings' as the nominated member of the Green Group on the Development Control Committee, and signed by the Mayor.

34 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest in any of the items on the agenda.

35 Parliamentary Boundary Review 2023

Consideration was given to a report outlining the proposed changes to the parliamentary boundaries put forward by the Boundary Commission.

Recommendation 2(a) in the report was moved by Councillor Afrasiab Anwar and seconded by Councillor Gordon Birtwistle.

Full Council 29/11/2022 Page **1** of **2**

RESOLVED, THAT: Recommendation 2(a) be approved, to ask the Chief Executive to write to the Boundary Commission supporting the changes to the Burnley Parliamentary boundary.

36 Appointments to Committees and Political Balance

Consideration was given to a report setting out the revised political balance of the Council following the recent by-election of Councillor Bill Horrocks as ward councillor for Rosehill with Burnley Wood ward and a number of consequential changes required to committee memberships.

The report also requested a nomination to the position of Vice-chair of the Audit & Standards Committee following the decision taken at the last Full Council meeting that the positions of Chair and Vice-chair of the committee should not be held either by a member of the Executive or the Scrutiny Chair.

RESOLVED, THAT: The following changes be made to committee memberships and appointments:

- Add Councillor Bill Horrocks to Development Control Committee
- Remove Councillor Howard Baker from Audit & Standards Committee
- Remove Councillor Alan Hosker from Scrutiny Committee
- Add Councillor Alan Hosker to Audit & Standards Committee
- Remove Councillor Andy Fewings from Development Control Committee
- Add Councillor Jack Launer to Licensing Committee
- Remove Councillor Charlie Briggs from Licensing Committee
- Appoint Councillor Gordon Lishman as Vice-chair of Audit & Standards Committee.